Senior Freshman Teams Win Awards at COES Design and Research Conference

The College of Engineering and Science (COES) awarded 22 awards to freshman and senior teams at the 2022 COES Design and Research Conference. Judges rated the teams and their projects for innovation, work hard and research.

On the first day of the conference, teams of freshmen competed for the Engineering and Cyber ​​Exhibit awards, showcasing prototypes they had begun visualizing in their first term at Louisiana Tech.

Attendees of the engineering expo competed for nine prizes for creativity, construction, ambition, innovation, success and tenacity: Maker’s, DaVinci, Patent Pending, Can-Do, Shoot the Moon and Grand Challenge Scholars, as well as from first to third. place global rewards.

Cyber ​​Exhibition teams competed for seven similar awards: Moonshot, Most Inventive, Best Use of GPIO (General Purpose Input/Output Pins), Maker’s, People’s Choice, and First and Second place in the general classification.

In addition to the first-year winners, six teams of senior mechanical engineers won the Barnwell Awards for their innovation in designing green, performance and safety protocols.

Year One Cyberexpo Winners

  • First Best Overall: Physical Spotify Library – Jacob France (IT – Rosenberg, TX), Brayden Fisher (Cyber ​​Engineering – Prairieville)
  • Second Best Overall: Posture Chair – Quentin Quarles (IT – Kenner), Evan Matherne (IT – River Ridge), Cameron McCarthy (Cyber ​​Engineering – Ruston)
  • Moonshot Award: Sensory Module for Improving Lives and Livelihoods – Ian Golsby (Electrical Engineering – Shreveport), Lael Hamilton (Computer Science – Singer)
  • Most Inventive: Wally Whiteboard – Stone Gorman (Cyber ​​Engineering – Warren, Arkansas), Nathaniel Terrebonne (Electrical Engineering – Galliano), Vito Mumphrey (Cyber ​​Engineering – Prairieville)
  • Best use of GPIO: Game Glove – Zachary Browning (Computer Science – Gonzales), Robert Emory (Mathematics – Benton), Jenny Yonjan Tamang (Computer Science – Bara, Nepal)
  • Maker’s Award: Shelfinator 3000 – Tamara Ozol (Mechanical Engineering, Physics – Gonzales), Nathaniel Mitchell (Cyber ​​Engineering – West Monroe), Jordan Williams (Cyber ​​Engineering, Mathematics – Covington)
  • People’s Choice: Physical Spotify Library – Jacob France (IT – Rosenberg, TX), Brayden Fisher (Cyber ​​Engineering – Prairieville)

Freshman Engineering Exhibition Winners

  • First Overall – Drop Saw by Cameron LeBlanc (Mechanical Engineering – Baton Rouge), Channing Amedee (Chemical Engineering – Houma), Harrison Dougherty (Mechanical Engineering – Baton Rouge), Beau Bayham (Mechanical Engineering – Pearland, Texas)
  • Second Overall – BeeFree by Caden Edwards (Industrial Engineering, Business Administration – Hughes Springs, TX), Jacob Michelli (Chemical Engineering – Prairieville), Christian Delbasty (Civil Engineering – Paulina)
  • Third Overall – James Clack’s Swift Shield (Electrical Engineering – Oak Grove), Alexis Haley (Mechanical Engineering – Shreveport), Kate McLoughlin (Mechanical Engineering – Deville)
  • Makers – Smart Hook by Julia Hanewinkel (Mechanical Engineering – Albany), Brock Moore (Mechanical Engineering – Calhoun), Macy Thibodeaux (Civil Engineering – Albany)
  • DaVinci – Harness Helper Fall Alert System by Nathan Massey (Chemicals – Clinton, Mississippi), Taylor May (Nanosystems Engineering – Clinton, Mississippi)
  • Patent Pending – Helping Hand by Amelia Boudreau (Biomedical Engineering – Kenner), Ashley Dourrieu (Mechanical Engineering – Meraux), Kirsten Nugent (Industrial Engineering – Longview, Texas)
  • Can-Do – The Spin Master by Logan Pertuis (Chemical Engineering – Denham Springs), Chase Senac (Chemical Engineering – Covington), Jackson Mayeux (Mechanical Engineering – Port Allen)
  • Shoot the Moon – Mechanically Automated Leg by Austin Lucas (Mechanical Engineering – Houma), Dawson Perkins (Mechanical Engineering – Sulfur), Kamden Perkins (Chemical Engineering – Sulfur)
  • Grand Challenge Scholars Award (new prize chosen by professors and students of the Grand Challenge Scholars program) – Helping Hand by Amelia Boudreau (Biomedical Engineering – Kenner), Ashley Dourrieu (Mechanical Engineering – Meraux), Kirsten Nugent (Industrial Engineering – Longview , Texas)

Mechanical Engineering Graduate Program Barnwell Award Winners

  • Green Session First Place – Lake Water Cooling System by Cameron Cruise (Bernice), Kade Leo (Houma), Thy Phung (Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam) and Christopher Stoltz (New Iberia)
  • Green Session Second Place – Powered Lure Dynamometer by Michael Davis (Glenmora), Dane Henssler (Folsom), Matthew Matherne (Monroe) and Carson Millikin (Monroe)
  • First Place Performance Session – Sealing Machine by Courtland Adaire (Madisonville), Micah Haney (El Dorado, Arkansas), Hayden Johnson (Plain Dealing) and Christian Rabalais (Covington)
  • Second Place Performance Session – Conveyor Receiver System by Brett Cheramie (Cutoff), Jacob Goudeau (Monroe), Douglas Marcotte (Alexandria) and Mason Terrell (Pineville)
  • Safety Session First Place – Vertical Pump Lift Tool by Matthew Byrnes (Bossier City), Christopher Crawford (Kentwood), Justin Fleming (New Orleans) and Cory Young (Alexandria)
  • Second Place Safety Session – Bull Gear Installation Tool Christopher Gardner (Shreveport), Christian Lejeune (Baton Rouge), Jackson Sikes (Bossier City) and Steven Vince (Greenwell Springs)
Previous The electrical and electronic appliances sector offers the highest salary: JobsDB
Next Ship's Chief Engineer Pleads Guilty to Willful Discharge of Oily Waste and Obstruction of Justice in New Orleans | USAO-EDLA